• Susan

Environmental Charities unite on Earth Day for the launch of The Big Give Green Match Fund

The UK’s biggest, coordinated environmental fundraising campaign, the ‘Green Match Fund’, has launched today to coincide with this year's Earth Day. The campaign seeks to raise more than £3 million for the 146 charities taking part. Donations made to participating charities will be matched thanks to ‘champion’ funders, sourced by the Big Give and The Environmental Funders Network.


The Green Match Fund campaign has been organised by the Big Give, the UK’s biggest online match funding platform and the brainchild of recruitment entrepreneur and philanthropist Sir Alec Reed. By bringing 146 charities together for the first time in a larger campaign tied into Earth Day, the Big Givehopes to draw attention to environmental issues and the importance of taking action now to save the planet.

The Big Give has raised over £190 million for thousands of great causes through the power of match funding. The match funding for this campaign is being provided by a network of champions, philanthropists and funders, including The Reed Foundation, AKO Foundation, Michael O’Mara Books, EQ Foundation and players of People’s Postcode Lottery with funding awarded by Postcode Earth Trust, amongst others.

The money raised will be a vital lifeline for the environmental sector. In a recent report conducted by the Big Give, almost two thirds (63%) of environmental charities reported a decrease in income in 2020 because of Covid-19. According to the same report, one in five environmental charities were planning to reduce service delivery as a result.

The Green Match Fund campaign will support a broad range of environmental charities focusing on a variety of topics, including:

Surfers Against Sewage: will raise funds to clean up beaches, rivers and towns across the UK.

The Rivers Trust: will raise funds to improve ecological health in our rivers. Only 14% are in good ecological health, and every single one fails to meet chemical standards.

We need 1.5bn trees in the UK to tackle the climate crisis. Here are just a few of the charities in the Green Match Fund dedicated to protecting, restoring and reforesting the planet: Trees For Cities, Trees for Life, Tree Sisters, Moor Trees.

ClientEarth will raise funds to use the power of the law to change the way we live in the world and protect life on Earth.

Seven million live in food poverty in the UK, yet 3.6 million tonnes of food is wasted each year.


Simone Connolly, CEO of FareShare Midlands, said: ‘The challenges which arose during the Covid-19 pandemic were enormous. Having survived those, our members now find themselves battling to support local people in need who are struggling with worsening financial situations. As the largest food redistribution charity in the Midlands, we are participating in the Green Match Fund campaign to raise desperately needed money. Donations made during the week will provide vulnerable, hungry families with nutritious food while supporting our environmental mission to prevent unnecessary food waste.’

The RSPB believes that only 21% of children in the UK have an adequate connection to nature. Young People’s Trust for the Environment (YPTE) is a charity that encourages young people’s understanding of the environment. The charity aims to give young people clear and balanced information on a wide range of environmental issues, including climate change, plastic pollution, deforestation and endangered species.

Peter Littlewood, director of Young People’s Trust for the Environment, said: ‘Match funding from the Green Match Fund has helped us to launch 'Better Planet Schools', our new environmental education programme for primary schools throughout the UK. Better Planet Schools provides lesson plans, presentations, videos and child led activities that help children learn about important environmental issues and how they can make a difference. And we know it works: our pilot project saw schools saving 10 to 15% of their annual energy usage as a result of child led behaviour change alone. With the average school energy bill being £31,000 in 2019, it saves the school money and reduces greenhouse gas emissions. We hope that by 2030, all UK primary schools will have taken part in Better Planet Schools. Places cost £100 per school per year, but donations from sources like the Green Match Fund have meant that every school taking part has been able to claim a fully funded place and participate free of charge. We are really grateful to the Green Match Fund and our supporters and donors for helping make Better Planet Schools a reality.’

Alex Day, director of the Big Give, said: ‘The latest IPCC report was clear. Cohesive and collective action is needed if we are to meet the 1.5 c degree global warming target. That has to include how we support environmental causes. After a successful pilot in 2021, we are delighted to launch the Green Match Fund in 2022. We believe this is the biggest and most exciting innovation in environmental philanthropy. We have curated a portfolio of over 100 of the UK’s best environmental charities, working on a range of issues, from rivers to tree planting, education, food waste, climate action, and much more. During the Green Match Fund week, thanks to support from over 40 Companies, Foundations and Philanthropists, every £1 donated to these charities will be doubled. That is one donation, twice the impact.’


James Reed CEO and chairman, Reed Group and chairman of The Big Give, said:

‘Earth Day serves as a reminder of the threats to our planet and gives us the chance to appreciate everything it offers. The Big Give is bringing 146 environmental charities together to help make a difference. We are hoping to raise over £3 millio to save our planet.

‘Businesses like Reed, AKO Capital, EQ Investors, Michael O’Mara Books and Players of People’s Postcode Lottery with funding awarded by Postcode Earth Trust are all supporting the campaign with match funding. Businesses must play their part in helping to secure the future of our planet. This is an effective and efficient vehicle for multiplying the impact of corporate philanthropy.’

For more information, please visit: https://donate.thebiggive.org.uk/green-match-fund-2022



Full list of 146 environmental charities taking part in the campaign

Action for Conservation https://www.actionforconservation.org/

Amos Trust https://www.amostrust.org

Ashden http://www.ashden.org

Avon Wildlife Trust https://www.avonwildlifetrust.org.uk/

Bat Conservation Trust http://www.bats.org.uk

Beaver Trust https://beavertrust.org/

Bees for Development Trust http://www.beesfordevelopment.org

Bike for Good https://www.bikeforgood.org.uk

Blue Marine Foundation https://www.bluemarinefoundation.com/

Bristol nd Bath Parks Foundation https://www.yourpark.org.uk/

Bristol Avon Rivers Trust http://www.bristolavonriverstrust.org/

Buglife https://www.buglife.org.uk/

Bumblebee Conservation Trust https://www.bumblebeeconservation.org

Butterfly Conservation https://butterfly-conservation.org/

Cambridge Carbon Footprint http://www.cambridgecarbonfootprint.org

Cambridge Past, Present & Future http://www.cambridgeppf.org

Camcycle (Cambridge Cycling Campaign) http://www.camcycle.org.uk

Campaign for National Parks https://www.cnp.org.uk/

Cheetah Conservation Fund UK https://cheetah.org/uk

Chipembele Trust https://www.chipembele.org/

Clientearth https://www.clientearth.org/

Climate Outreach https://climateoutreach.org/

Coco https://coco.org.uk

Conservation Collective https://devonenvironment.org/

Cool Earth Action https://www.coolearth.org

Cotswold Lakes Trust https://cotswoldlakestrust.org/

Cumbria Action for Sustainability https://www.cafs.org.uk

Dandelion Time https://dandeliontime.org.uk/

David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation https://davidshepherd.org/

Earth Trust http://www.earthtrust.org.uk

Earthwatch https://earthwatch.org.uk/

EcoBirmingham http://www.ecobirmingham.com

Ecologia Youth Trust https://www.ecologia.org.uk/

Environmental Justice Foundation http://ejfoundation.org

Essex Wildlife Trust Limited https://www.essexwt.org.uk/

FareShare Midlands http://faresharemidlands.org.uk

FareShare South West https://faresharesouthwest.org.uk/

FoodCycle https://foodcycle.org.uk

Food for All https://foodforalluk.com/

Forest Peoples Programme http://www.forestpeoples.org

Forth Environment Link http://www.forthenvironmentlink.org

Friends of the Earth Charitable Trust https://friendsoftheearth.uk/

Ghost Fishing UK https://www.ghostfishing.co.uk/

Global Action Plan UK http://www.globalactionplan.org.uk

Global Canopy http://www.globalcanopy.org

Global Ecovillage Network http://www.ecovillage.org

Global Feedback Limited https://feedbackglobal.org/

Global Generation https://www.globalgeneration.org.uk/

Global Greengrants Fund UK https://www.greengrants.org/who-we-are/global-greengrants-fund-uk/

Global Legal Action Network (GLAN) http://www.glanlaw.org

Global Witness Trust https://www.globalwitness.org/en/

Gwent Wildlife Trust https://www.gwentwildlife.org

Habitats & Heritage http://www.habitatsandheritage.org.uk

Hammersmith Community Gardens Association https://www.hcga.org.uk

Heal Rewilding https://www.healrewilding.org.uk

Hebridean Whale And Dolphin Trust https://hwdt.org/

Herts & Middlesex Wildlife Trust https://www.hertswildlifetrust.org.uk/

Highlands and Islands Environment Foundation https://hief.scot/

Hope for the Future http://www.hftf.org.uk

Hubbub Foundation UK http://www.hubbub.org.uk

International Tree Foundation http://internationaltreefoundation.org/

Lake District Foundation https://www.lakedistrictfoundation.org/

Leicestershire and Rutland Wildlife Trust Limited http://www.lrwt.org.uk

Lewa Wildlife Conservancy UK https://www.lewa.org/

London Wildlife Trust https://www.wildlondon.org.uk

Mersey Rivers Trust https://www.merseyriverstrust.org

Moor Trees https://www.moortrees.org

Movements Trust Limited https://www.themovementstrust.org/

New Economics Foundation https://neweconomics.org/

Northumberland Wildlife Trust https://www.nwt.org.uk

Nourish (Scotland) http://www.nourishscotland.org

Orangutan Foundation https://www.orangutan.org.uk

Organisation Cetacea http://www.orcaweb.org.uk

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Trust https://pembrokeshirecoasttrust.wales/

Pipal Tree http://www.pipaltree.org.uk

Plant Your Future http://www.plantyourfuture.org.uk

Population Matters https://populationmatters.org

Possible https://www.wearepossible.org/

Power For The People https://www.pfp.global

Progressive Farming Trust http://www.organicresearchcentre.com

Protect Our Winters UK https://protectourwinters.uk/

Rainforest Concern http://www.rainforestconcern.org

Rainforest Trust UK http://www.rainforesttrust.org/uk

Raleigh International Trust https://raleighinternational.org/

Recycle-To-Cycle http://www.thebikestation.org.uk

Recyke Y'bike https://www.recyke.bike

Renewable World https://renewable-world.org/

Rewilding Britain https://www.rewildingbritain.org.uk/

RSPB https://www.rspb.org.uk/

Salmon & Trout Conservation UK https://salmon-trout.org/

Sand Dams Worldwide Limited https://www.sanddamsworldwide.org.uk/

Scotland: The Big Picture https://www.scotlandbigpicture.com

Scottish Seabird Centre https://www.seabird.org/

Scottish Wildlife Trust https://scottishwildlifetrust.org.uk

Send a Cow https://www.sendacow.org

Severn Rivers Trust https://severnriverstrust.com

ShareAction https://www.shareaction.org

Shrewsbury Food Hub http://shrewsburyfoodhub.org.uk/

Solar Aid https://solar-aid.org/

Somerset Wildlife Trust https://www.somersetwildlife.org

Sophia Akash Foundation CIO https://www.sophiaakashfoundation.com/

South Downs National Park Trust http://www.southdownstrust.org.uk

South Georgia Heritage Trust http://www.sght.org/

Stroud Valleys Project https://www.stroudvalleysproject.org

Sumatran Orangutan Society https://www.orangutans-sos.org/

Surfers Against Sewage https://www.sas.org.uk

Sustainable Food Trust http://www.sustainablefoodtrust.org

Tanzania Development Trust http://www.tanzdevtrust.org

Tees Rivers Charitable Trust http://www.teesriverstrust.org

Temwa UK https://temwa.org/

The Centre for Alternative Technology http://www.cat.org.uk

The Climate Coalition https://www.theclimatecoalition.org/

The Ecumenical Council For Corporate Responsibility (ECCR) http://www.eccr.org.uk

The Environment Centre https://www.environmentcentre.org.uk/

The Global Returns Project Limited https://globalreturnsproject.earth/

The Great Bustard Group https://greatbustard.org

The John Muir Trust https://www.johnmuirtrust.org/

The Joliba Trust http://www.jolibatrust.org.uk

The Manta Trust https://www.mantatrust.org

The Parks Foundation https://www.parksfoundation.org.uk/

The Poverty And Environment Trust https://powerforpeople.org.uk

The Rainforest Foundation UK https://www.rainforestfoundationuk.org/

The Restart Project https://therestartproject.org

The Rivers Trust http://www.theriverstrust.org

The Tiyeni Fund https://www.tiyeni.org/

The Tree Council https://treecouncil.org.uk/

The Wildlife Trust for Lancashire, Manchester and North Merseyside https://www.lancswt.org.uk/

The Wiltshire Wildlife Trust http://www.wiltshirewildlife.org

The Yorkshire Dales Millennium Trust http://www.ydmt.org

Thin Green Line Foundation UK https://thingreenline.org.uk/

Transform Scotland http://www.transform.scot

Trees For Cities https://www.treesforcities.org/

Trees for Life https://treesforlife.org.uk

Tree Sisters https://treesisters.org

Tuppenny Barn Education Limited https://www.tuppennybarn.co.uk

Ukela https://www.ukela.org/

United Kingdom Antarctic Heritage Trust https://www.ukaht.org/

Virunga Foundation https://virunga.org/

Westcountry Rivers Trust https://wrt.org.uk/

West Cumbria Rivers Trust Limited http://www.westcumbriariverstrust.org/

Whitley Fund for Nature https://whitleyaward.org/

Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust http://www.wwt.org.uk

Wildside Activity Centre http://www.wildsideac.co.uk

Women's Environmental Network (WEN) http://www.wen.org.uk

Young People's Trust For The Environment (YPTE) https://ypte.org.uk

Zoological Society of London https://www.zsl.org/conservation/regions/asia/wildcats-conservation-alliance